Wedding Invitations

7 May

One of the first things I began planning after Alex and I got engaged was the invitations. I knew I wanted something unique and handmade, but I had no idea how I was going to make them. Soon after I lost my job at a publishing company and discovered letterpress though an apprenticeship at Blue Barnhouse. They were cool enough to let me use their space and presses to make my invitations there. Here’s a glimpse of the long and arduous process that took over my life last summer.

Photopolymer plate for my response cards.

Finished response cards.

Printing the invitation covers.

The printed covers, pre-scoring.

Scoring the covers on the C&P that’s the same size as mine.

Mixing ink.

Trimming the interior pages of the invites (not letterpressed)

Some assembly required.

The finished product.

Close up of the map of Hot Springs, NC. The Mountain Magnolia Inn.

One Response to “Wedding Invitations”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. etsy find: Mink Letterpress | Wedding Photography in Wilmington NC | Charo Photo - December 1, 2011

    […] I photographed back in 2009 in Hot Springs, NC.   She and her husband Alex designed and  created the invitations and programs for their wedding, which were INCREDIBLE.  Their story is incredible, too – and the fact that they are both […]

Leave a Reply

